The Most Succint Way I’ve Heard This Perspective

So, as you could probably tell by last week’s sparse amount of posts, I was on vacation. My family went to my dad’s home state of New York for Fourth of July and ended our trip at my cousin’s wedding in Michigan. Originally, we were going to get to Michigan from New York by going through Canada, stopping to visit my parents’ friends in Toronto. Unfortunately, that part of the plan was derailed as my and my brother’s passports expired just days before we would go to Canada…my dad had forgotten to get ours renewed. Any American who’s traveled to Canada knows that the Canadians wouldn’t give you much trouble crossing the border…in fact, when I was younger, you didn’t used to need a passport to cross the Canadian-American border at all. Naturally, with everything going on, things have somewhat regrettably but necessarily changed from what my dad has described as a border that should’ve not had to be this secured (I suppose we have all the immigration blunders to thank for this). As a result, you could guess that my brother and I would have trouble crossing back to America. As disappointed as I admittedly was, I guess I can be glad that Americans are taking border security seriously on at least one border. In any case, my parents’ Canadian friends agreed to meet us in Buffalo (we had to take the long way to Michigan) for lunch.  We ended up talking a little bit about the state of the world and how, in short, migration from the Islamic world was causing lots of problems. One of my parents’ friends very succinctly summarized why many people, including myself, don’t like how they have come and not assimilated the proper way by saying something along the lines of, “If you come to this country and bring your country with you, what’s the point of coming here in the first place?” I, of course, understand if immigrants want to hold onto some traditions and customs as a nod to the homeland, and as long as you assimilate (learning English, following our laws, etc.), I don’t mind at all. We aren’t asking you to completely forget your heritage (my family certainly doesn’t). After all, remembering where you came from is super important. However, if you refuse to assimilate, bring outdated and conflicting law systems there, and segregate yourself from the rest of society while being intolerant of your host society, this makes us angry. With this in mind, it should be no surprise to Muslims and other immigrants why we are angry with the immigration situation.

Leave a Reply

