Is there really Christian privilege? I don’t think so.

Tonight, while at dinner with a friend, I saw a bulletin board that claimed that there was this thing called “Christian privilege”. I didn’t get a chance to read the whole board, but I immediately disagreed. However, though Christianity is the majority religion, I believe that the privilege lies with minority religions, especially Islam. As has become common over the years, making a statement against the minority religions is immediately shunned and called bigotry, yet it’s okay to demonize Christianity. They get all the protections. Where’s the fairness of treatment in that? As always, my issues there, as mentioned before, is that America has freedom of religion and freedom of speech, and it is being infringed upon. However, I believe that leftists miss the point when they claim that there is Christian privilege. Yes, our country is majority Christian, and you can find several churches in any town you go to, but they must keep in mind that our Founding Fathers were also majority Christian and held Judeo-Christian principles in so much esteem that they decided to found a nation based on those principles. It is those principles that allowed minorities such as Muslims to follow their religion and voice their opinion even though they aren’t a majority. Is that Christian privilege? I don’t think so. I believe that it was an attempt at fairness and equality inspired by the world’s number one religion. Therefore, the left ought to be careful, or the advantages afforded to them will bite them in the rear.

One thought on “Is there really Christian privilege? I don’t think so.

  1. Pingback: Is there really Christian privilege? I don’t think so. – NZ Conservative Coalition

Leave a Reply

