Assumptions make an ass out of you and me: a message to my liberal friends.

On the liberal side, they champion the idea of assuming someone’s gender is wrong and even hurtful (among other things they tell us not to assume). Well, in light of “love trumps hate”, I have a question for my liberal friends: ever hear of the adage, “Assumptions make an ass out of you and me.”? I know it’s commonly repeated in my generation, so you probably have, but if you’re liberal, I have my doubts. Why? The general sentiment from liberals (I know not all of you do, but being a political minority at my high school and on a college campus definitely can make me feel that way) towards Americans who voted for Trump seems to be that we are islamophobes, homophobes, racists, and every other type of phobe that the liberals can throw at us (from personal experience, this is especially annoying when you are around liberals who think that everyone around them are also liberals). Sure, there are some of those people out there who voted for Trump. However, I urge the liberals to pause before assuming things about us conservatives. It would be just as wrong for you to assume those things about us as for me to assume that all my Muslim friends are terrorists. Many of us voted for Trump for reasons such as fearing the infringement of our rights and being tired of out-of-touch politicians ignoring us. We are not what you assume we are. Most of us will treat our liberal counterparts with human dignity even if we do not agree with them. Liberals, all we ask is the same of you.

Leave a Reply

